Yog Sutra : Vibhuti Pada | योगसूत्र - विभूतिपदः

The Patanjali's Yog Sutra,comprising of 195 aphorisms divided into 4 chapters or Pada, provide terse treatment to the complex subject of Yoga and seamlessly covers aspects such as types of yoga, practice of yoga, powers of yoga and the ultimate aim or result of yoga. The 56 sutras of the third chapter focus on the achieved union and its result. The term 'vibhuti' denotes manifestation or residue and this Pada delineates all the accomplishments, which come as the result of regular yoga practices. They are also sometimes called the siddhis, or powers, which have become matured with practice. The practices, which have been stressed in the Vibhuti Pada are the final three limbs of Ashtanga Yoga: dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation), and samadhi (contemplation), the amalgamated practice of which is known as samyama.
This chapter deals with the subtle states of awareness and advanced techniques of practicing samyama. The various kinds of knowledge or siddhis that might be obtained by practicing this yogic technique are also described. The Pada brings home the fact that knowledge is power and states the techniques of utilizing such potency for the best possible results.
The 55 sutras (aphorisms) of Vibhuti Pada in Sanskrit, Sanskrit transliteration with English translation are explained here. click the Sutra to display or hide description:

DESHA - place; spot
BANDHA - binding; confining; fixing
CHITTASYA - of the mind
DHAARANAA - concentration.

Concentration is the confining of the mind within a limited mental area (object of concentration).

<< Sadhana Pada       ------------       Kaivalya Pada >>

Post a Comment